J.Juan Will Equip Official Can-Am Maverick X3; Favorites To Win Dakar 2019 In SxS Category

December 2018 Powersport News

Barcelona (Spain) - South Racing is the official Can-Am team ready to compete in the Dakar 2019. The team, managed by Scott Abraham, will ride the powerful Maverick X3, starting as clear favorites to win the side-by-side (SxS) category.

South Racing has chosen to face the most beautiful race in the world, equipping the vehicles with the J.JUAN racing braking kit. A choice born from tests achieved by the same Abraham, equipping more than 50 competition Maverick units with the brakes produced in Barcelona (Spain) for this type of vehicles. With only 667 kgs weight, these sport UTVs are powered by 120 hp. Their agility and maneuverability gives the vehicles a sporty spirit that is convincing and converting the great rally drivers and riders coming from cars and motorcycles.

There will be three official drivers for South Racing at the Dakar in Peru, all potential candidates for the final victory: the Brazilian Reynaldo Varela, already winner of the category in 2018 with the same team, Gerard Farrés, the Spanish rider who passed by the two wheels (and third at the Dakar 2017) to the side-by-sides and able to conquer several successes in the season on this new category, in addition to the American star Casey Currie, great winner in the American trials of Best In The Desert and Baja Mexico.

J.JUAN started working at best on this competitive braking system kit in 2018, after the success achieved in 2017 at the BAJA 1000 in Mexico, where driver Marc Burnett won the world SCORE Championship.

Since then, the presence of this braking kit counts its participations with successes of the aforementioned pilots as well as Paul Aray (Peru), Stéphane Brunet (France), Brett Comiskey (Australia), Jesus Cucharrera (Spain), Emilio Ferrando (Spain), Christine Giampaoli (Spain), Diego Heilbrun (Peru), Austin Jones (USA), Miguel Jordao (Portugal), Sergei Karyakin (Russia), Werner Mostert (South Africa), Monica Plaza (Spain), José Salaverry ( Peru), Dani Solà (Espàña) and André Vilas Boas (Portugal).

For further info, visit www.jjuan.com.

  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up
You Might Also Be Interested In...

Send to your friends!