Payson Hosts AZOP’s Muddiest Event of Year

Round 10 of AZOP’s championship series races in Payson, AZ

October 2018 Racing Jonathan Barrett

The Arizona Offroad Promotions Payson GP in Payson, AZ, proved to be the most challenging race of the year with torrential rain and resulting mud. The GNCC-esque race was a rare sight in Arizona and the first muddy race the series has seen all season.

The UTVs took to the muddy track and blasted through the deep pools and thick mud. Tom Wilson won the scarce Pro class, Todd Waling won his 850cc class, Chase De Sousa Dias won the 900cc class, and Robert Olander took the 1000cc Non Turbo class with Kody Winiecki and Barry Bennett right behind him, Last but not least, Kali Kinsman took the 1000cc Turbo class, with Neil Carse and Chad Fisher taking second and third. Top 10 results for UTVs are as follows: Kali Kinsman, Robert Olander, Neil Carse, Tom Wilson, Chase De Sousa Dias, Chad Fisher, Kody Winiecki, Jeff Kery, Clay Winiecki and Todd Waling.

The Payson GP proved to be a challenging course with conditions rarely seen on the West Coast.

The Peewee Quads came out with Lane Johnson taking first in the 50-79cc 4-6 Years Old class, followed by Emma Martinez. Brenden Turner, Brayden Earlewine and Jack Wilson rounding out the podium in the 80cc+ Beginner class, and Tavin Freeman, Landen Johnson and Gabriel Simmons taking the podium in the 80cc+ Advanced class.

The Mini Quads were next up with Carly Center taking first in the 250-400cc class, followed by Tyler Tsosie and Dakota Hibler. Kolbie Lang won the 91-300cc 10-15 Years Old class, followed by Robert Dearth and Kasey Snyder. Top 10 finishes for Mini Quads are as follows: Kolbie Lang, Robert Dearth, Carly Senter, Tyler Tsosie, Kasey Snyder, Dakota Hibler, Wyatt Rock, Noel Brock and Tyler Savage.

Racing through even deeper mud and more rain, the Big Quads took to the muddy track. Francisco Lizarraga won the Sportsman class followed by Mike Morgan and Nick Helton. Travis Tarno won the Expert class with Todd Ellsworth and Austin Snyder right behind with Andrew Simmons, Ron Suor and Erin Simmons finishing closely to round out the Pro class. Top 10 results are as follows: Andrew Simmons, Ron Suor, Travis Tarno, Erin Simmons, Todd Ellsworth, Francisco Lizarraga , Mike Morgan, Austin Snyder, Nick Helton and Michael Tsosie.

The Payson GP proved to be a challenging course with conditions rarely seen on the west coast.

The next race is the Havasu Havik Grand Prix on Nov. 3-4 at Crazy Horse in Lake Havasu City, AZ. More info at

  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up
You Might Also Be Interested In...

Send to your friends!

Already a subscriber? Please check your email for the latest full issue link.