Polaris RZRs Top UTV World Championship

March 2016 Racing

Minneapolis, MN – The second annual Polaris RZR UTV World Championship saw 212 UTVs, including 24 youth models, line up at the largest UTV race in the world.

Fresh off a win at the Parker 250, Polaris factory racer Justin Lambert was back in his Cognito Motorsports No. 1918 RZR XP 4 1000 to take the win in the Walker Evans Racing Desert Championship Race from the UTV Pro Class. Lambert battled most of the race with Best in the Desert newcomer and Polaris factory racer Mitch Guthrie Jr. in his No. 1951 RZR XP Turbo. The hard-fought race had the No. 1951 succumb to the battle with Guthrie Jr., finishing in an admirable eighth. Lambert had clear sailing and finished 10 minutes ahead of second place.

Second place for the Desert Championship Race was the No. 960RZR XP Turbo of Ryan Laidlaw, who also took first in the Pro Turbo class. Kristen Matlock in the No. 1954 RZR XP 1000 rounded out the podium for the Desert Championship Race and finished second behind Lambert in the UTV Pro class. Polaris factory racer Marc Burnett finished second in the Pro Turbo Class and Michael Cafro in the No. 1975 RZR XP 1000 finished third in the UTV Pro Class.

The Holz Racing Products Production Short Course Race saw Mitch Guthrie Jr. take the win with his No. 4503 RZR XP Turbo from the UTV Production Turbo Class. Polaris factory racer RJ Anderson took third overall in his No. 4537 RZR XP Turbo and second in the UTV Production Turbo Class. Burnett in the No. 905 RZR XP Turbo took third in UTV Production Turbo. Polaris factory racer and Best in the Desert newcomer Cody Rahders placed second in the UTV Production 1000 class in his No. 116 RZR XP 1000 with Ryan Holz, also in a RZR XP 1000, taking third in the class.

The Magnum Off-Road RZR 170 race saw Julien Beaumer take the race in his first-ever off-road race. In the Magnum Off-Road Production 250 class, Casey Sims took the checkered flag in his modified RZR 170.

Torey Rush was the odd man out in the desert running amongst the quads in his Polaris ACE 900 SP. Rush finished second in the Quad Ironman Amateur class, running the last lap and a half on a flat tire.

The next BITD Race is the Polaris RZR MINT 400 presented by BFGoodrich Tires, March 10-13 in Las Vegas, NV.

Justin Lambert is sponsored by Polaris, Cognito, Mystik Lubricants, ITP Tires, Method Race Wheels, Sparks Performance Products, Fox Racing Shocks

Mitch Guthrie Jr. is sponsored by Polaris, Walker Evans Racing, Super ATV, ITP Tires, Cooper Standard Tire Balls, Kicker Audio, Baja Designs, PRP Seats, RCV Performance, Odyssey Batteries, SSI Decals, Rugged Radio, Hardcore Tuning, Factory UTV, KBN, Bert’s, UTV Underground, Fatography and Mad Media.

Mark Burnett is sponsored by Polaris, Monster, MB Motorsports, Lincoln Welders, UNI, P.C.I, Eibach, HJC, Heatshield, FOX, ORW, RacePak, Pace Off-Road Logo, Rigid industries, RPI, RCV, Razor Back Technologies, CP Tools, Energy Coil, Lucas Oil, General Tires, Aeromotive, OMF, Cryoheat, iON, Antigravity Batteries, Factory UTV Red Cap, Magnaflow, Apollo Sat Phones, Bullet Liner, Dragon and Beard Seats.

RJ Anderson is sponsored by Polaris, Holz Racing Products, Walker Evans Racing, BF Goodrich Tires, South Point LV, Traxxas Racing, KN Filters, ProLine Wraps, Rugged Radios, Eibach, Active Screen Printing, UTV Underground and RJ37.

  • Like what you read?

    Want to know when we have important news, updates or interviews?

  • Join our newsletter today!

    Sign Up
You Might Also Be Interested In...

Send to your friends!

Already a subscriber? Please check your email for the latest full issue link.